GBI RACING

Lancaster Bomber ruled out of Royal Ascot

Lancaster Bomber on his way to winning the Tattersalls Gold Cup at the Curragh

Tattersalls Gold Cup hero Lancaster Bomber is set to miss Royal Ascot after suffering a setback.

After placing third behind stablemate Rhododendron in the Lockinge Stakes at Newbury, Aidan O’Brien’s charge recorded his first victory at Group One level with an all-the-way success at the Curragh.

O’Brien was contemplating supplementing his charge for the Prince of Wales’s Stakes at the Royal meeting, but speaking in an exclusive stable tour on www.attheraces.com/royalascot, the trainer said: “I don’t think he’ll make it to Royal Ascot.

“He is going through a niggly problem with a foot at the moment, so it’s likely to he won’t be ready enough to run there.”

O’Brien also confirmed high-class three-year-old fillies Magical and September will not be in action at the summer showpiece fixture in Berkshire next week.

Headlines